My Hope is Built on Nothing Less

This song was written by Edward Mote (1797-1874), a preacher in London and has always been one of my favorites. Sometimes I sing it when I’m vacuuming the church so I figured it is worth the study since I vacuumed floors today. There are some necessary passages to help us understand this song, for we know that there are two places upon which you can build upon and there are certain choices that lead one to the appropriate footing. To stand upon the rock you must act on the words of Jesus. Not just listen, but act! There is a righteousness that stems from obedience.

24“Therefore (A)everyone who hears these words of Mine and acts on them, may be compared to a wise man who built his house on the rock.
25“And the rain fell, and the floods came, and the winds blew and slammed against that house; and yet it did not fall, for it had been founded on the rock.
26“Everyone who hears these words of Mine and does not act on them, will be like a foolish man who built his house on the sand.
27“The rain fell, and the floods came, and the winds blew and slammed against that house; and it fell–and great was its fall.”

Matthew 7:24-27

46(A)Why do you call Me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ and do not do what I say?
47(B)Everyone who comes to Me and hears My words and acts on them, I will show you whom he is like:
48he is like a man building a house, who dug deep and laid a foundation on the rock; and when a flood occurred, the torrent burst against that house and could not shake it, because it had been well built.
49“But the one who has heard and has not acted accordingly, is like a man who built a house on the ground without any foundation; and the torrent burst against it and immediately it collapsed, and the ruin of that house was great.”

Luke 6:46-49

Reviewing this song has brought me to the realization that I have a poor knowledge of the actual words of Jesus. I spend so much more time in the epistles, seeking to understand theology and soteriology while the Gospel accounts are rarely reviewed. Much more of my memorization is feeding my theology rather than my application. I realize I would much rather study hard doctrines than do simple simple commands. Upon closer inspection, this is where my Pharisaical tendencies begin to manifest themselves; I often see a big head  and quick judgments but idle hands when I look in the mirror of God’s Word.

I know a study of the words of Christ would be most beneficial, for it was only a few days ago when Josh and I listened to a sermon on the parable of Lazarus (Luke 16:19-21) while taking down the church Christmas decorations. The sermon made it crystal clear that a heart for the poor and needy is a necessary fruit of the redeemed. The story illustrates that hell is frantically trying to warn real people of this reality, yet Abraham points us to the Word. God is not so much glorified when a miraculous resurrection occurs to move people to faith, but more so when people turn to the words of Christ and act upon them in faith. I was convicted of my selfish heart, but also of a hardened heart that sometimes wished a miracle would occur (like Gideon) so that I would have greater faith or a perfect repentance. The Word Jesus Christ has spoken and that should be enough to move this poor soul.

Of course it doesn’t do much good to just reflect on this and not do anything about it. Over the break I built my reading plan for 2010, which, though fairly ambitious (for this is a small part of the plan), take me through all four Gospel accounts four times, which is about a chapter a day. I hope some of you will keep me accountable on what I am learning through the accounts as I also actively seek that accountability.

Without further adieu, I listed some passages that reminded me of the verses of Edward Mote.

________________________________________________________

My hope is built on nothing less
Than Jesus’ blood and righteousness;
I dare not trust the sweetest frame,
But wholly lean on Jesus’ name.
On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand;
All other ground is sinking sand.

17If you (A)address as Father the One who (B)impartially (C)judges according to each one’s work, conduct yourselves (D)in fear during the time of your (E)stay on earth;
18knowing that you were not (F)redeemed with perishable things like silver or gold from your (G)futile way of life inherited from your forefathers,
19but with precious (H)blood, as of a (I)lamb unblemished and spotless, the blood of Christ.

1 Peter 1:17-19

19So then you are no longer (A)strangers and aliens, but you are (B)fellow citizens with the saints, and are of (C)God’s household,
20having been (D)built on (E)the foundation of (F)the apostles and prophets,(G)Christ Jesus Himself being the (H)corner stone,
21(I)in whom the whole building, being fitted together, is growing into (J)a holy temple in the Lord,
22in whom you also are being (K)built together into a (L)dwelling of God in the Spirit.

Ephesians 2:19-22

When darkness veils His lovely face,
I rest on His unchanging grace;
In every high and stormy gale
My anchor holds within the veil.
On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand;
All other ground is sinking sand.

14Therefore, since we have a great (A)high priest who has (B)passed through the heavens, Jesus (C)the Son of God, let us hold fast our(D)confession.
15For we do not have (E)a high priest who cannot sympathize with our weaknesses, but One who has been (F)tempted in all things as we are, yet(G)without sin.
16Therefore let us (H)draw near with (I)confidence to the throne of grace, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help in time of need.

Hebrews 4:14-16

6For this is contained in Scripture:
(A)BEHOLD, I LAY IN ZION A CHOICE STONE, A (B)PRECIOUS CORNER stone,
AND HE WHO BELIEVES IN HIM WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED.”

1 Peter 2:6

His oath, His covenant, and blood
Support me in the whelming flood;
When every earthly prop gives way,
He then is all my Hope and Stay.
On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand;
All other ground is sinking sand.

21But now apart from the Law (A)the righteousness of God has been manifested, being (B)witnessed by the Law and the Prophets,
22even the (C)righteousness of God through (D)faith (E)in Jesus Christ for(F)all those who believe; for (G)there is no distinction;
23for all (H)have sinned and fall short of the glory of God,
24being justified as a gift (I)by His grace through (J)the redemption which is in Christ Jesus;
25whom God displayed publicly as (K)a propitiation (L)in His blood through faith This was to demonstrate His righteousness, because in the(M)forbearance of God He (N)passed over the sins previously committed;
26for the demonstration, I say, of His righteousness at the present time, so that He would be just and the justifier of the one who has faith in Jesus.

Romans 3:21-26

31(A)What then shall we say to these things? (B)If God is for us, who is against us?
32He who (C)did not spare His own Son, but (D)delivered Him over for us all, how will He not also with Him freely give us all things?
33Who will bring a charge against (E)God’s elect? (F)God is the one who justifies;
34who is the one who (G)condemns? Christ Jesus is He who (H)died, yes, rather who was [a](I)raised, who is (J)at the right hand of God, who also(K)intercedes for us.

Romans 8:31-36

11For no man can lay a (A)foundation other than the one which is laid, which is Jesus Christ.

1 Corinthians 3:11

What is the sweetest frame referring to? Here is a plausible answer.

When He shall come with trumpet sound,
Oh, may I then in Him be found,
Clothed in His righteousness alone,
Faultless to stand before the throne!
On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand;
All other ground is sinking sand.

51Behold, I tell you a (A)mystery; we will not all sleep, but we will all be(B)changed,
52in a moment, in the twinkling of an eye, at the last trumpet; for (C)the trumpet will sound, and (D)the dead will be raised imperishable, and (E)we will be changed.
53For this perishable must put on (F)the imperishable, and this (G)mortal must put on immortality.
54But when this perishable will have put on the imperishable, and this mortal will have put on immortality, then will come about the saying that is written, “(H)DEATH IS SWALLOWED UP in victory.
55(I)O DEATH, WHERE IS YOUR VICTORY? O DEATH, WHERE IS YOUR STING?”
56The sting of (J)death is sin, and (K)the power of sin is the law;
57but (L)thanks be to God, who gives us the (M)victory through our Lord Jesus Christ.

1 Corinthians 15:51-57

22The (AI)stone which the builders rejected
Has become the chief corner stone.
23This is [b]the LORD’S doing;
It is marvelous in our eyes.

Psalm 118:22-23

2 Comments Add yours

  1. joyce says:

    amen brother. it is ultimately God’s living word that leads us to repentance, and i am overjoyed that you have discovered this truth. it is god’s gospel, not solely his miracles, that has the ability to transform lives. i used to think that way too. i used to tell god, God, if only i could prophesy, then all these people would know of your existence and come to know you! (this is quite a long story and has a lot of layers to it so maybe i can tell you about it later). Anyways, God rebuked me and showed me the power of his WORD and his gospel, and i am eternally grateful for that. see you tomorrow!! :D

    <3joyce

  2. Kelli says:

    So often lately I’ve been asking God the question, “where is the balance of being hopeful in stuff of this earth, and pessimistic, so that I’m not too disappointed when things don’t work out?. You see, my husband got laid off almost two years ago and has interviewed and been turned down for so many jobs, it’s difficult to stay hopeful that “this job will be the ONE”… But this song is what keeps running through my brain. Our hope is not in finding the job, but in trusting that God has us in His hands and that as we hope in HIM alone, we cannot be disappointed.
    I loved your insights and scriptures! As I read through it, I was sure that you were a pastor somewhere. It was only after I read this that I went to your home page and learned that you are a college student. I appreciate your humility and wisdom. I believe God has an amazing future in store for you and as you continue to seek Him, you will see that He is changing lives and eternity through you. Thanks and God Bless!

Leave a Reply

