2010 Awards: Top Blogs

This has been an awesome year. I usually take mid-December or so to reflect on the year and think upon the abundance of blessings God has given and shown me before I set goals for next year. There is a lot to be thankful for so I set up a list of topic to cover over the next couple of weeks. If you found yourself in love with the same things as myself, feel free to leave a comment or shoot me a message! 

  1. Top 3 CD\’s
  2. Top 5 Blogs
  3. Top 5 Books
  4. Top 5 Songs
  5. Top 5 Youtube Videos
  6. Top 3 NBA highlights
  7. Top 5 Quotes
  8. Top 5 Youtube Covers/Originals
  9. Top 5 mp3 Sermons
  10. Top 3 Events

____________________________________________________________

I was once caught up in the whole Reformed-blogging movement, subscribing to too many places while having too many unread posts. I realized that I was bombarding myself with too much information to absorb in one sitting and that I was not being faithful to many truths I read over. While I realize that blogs are a recent cultural phenomenon in contemporary circles, I still find some to be helpful for my soul. Since then I have severely cut back on the blogs I consistently follow with many of my favorites being authored by people I know and treasure. Here are the top five who consistently update (there are many personal blogs that really encourage me), in no particular order.

“Albert Mohler” @ http://www.albertmohler.com/, by Albert Mohler

I would recommend this blog for any Christian who seeks to follow current events through a Christ-centered lens. Mohler is articulate and communicates a  coherent Christian world-view and speaks directly to events as they develop in the United States. I am very grateful for his ministry because he exercises Biblical discernment on often sensitive issues that Christians need to be able to defend. This blog is helpful for defending your faith on all sorts of social problems. The articles are not short but they are informative, basically long enough to learn something.

“Let’s be Real Here” @ http://jinkpoon.wordpress.com/, by Jin K. Poon

Jin is going to hate me for this. Not only is he one of the smartest and most talented people I know (graduated from UCD at 18, got his masters at 20, currently in medical school at 21), but he is also one of the most articulate and Christ-honoring men I know. While his life testifies to grace, his painfully transparent posts help Christians confront realities that often are not addressed or simply ignored. Even if you do not know the guy, I assure you that he will make you think much upon your salvation and how it ought to be worked out.

Joy Inexpressible @ http://clocke129.wordpress.com/, by Christopher Locke

Before people accuse me of unfair bias, you ought to read some of the things my brother writes. He, like Jin, is a good communicator and touches on real things pertinent to the everyday life of the believer. He writes about things that are presently on his mind so you can get a sense of what things he is wrestling or rejoicing over. His posts run on the longer side, but hey, if you read anything on this blog, you are used to it anyway. He has a recent post that is helpful for developing a holistic Biblical world view and on biblical manhood, so check that out!

Informing the Reforming @ http://www.challies.com/, by Tim Challies

Tim Challies is a great writer, offering a host of insights into all kinds of topics. His stuff ranges from social commentary to theological issues. He has a number of things he does consistently such as going through a chapter of a book every week and my personal favorite, the “a la carte.” He has a lot of good stuff and if I ever need commentary on an issue I can trust that searching his site will unearth some gem.

CheekySharon @ http://hicheeky.tumblr.com/, by Sharon Lee

I honestly do not know how she does it. I know she does not put everything about her life on the internet but at the same time there’s this sort of transparency that reveals a heart for nothing but the Gospel. There is a glimpse into the (in my estimation) painful process of becoming a nurse but her enthusiasm will undoubtedly spur you on, especially if you know her!

 

Leave a Reply

